Candidates line up for first-day filing

Posted on February 25, 2014 21:46 pm CST

Mostly incumbent candidates — all Republicans — lined up Tuesday in county clerks’ offices across the region to file for elected county offices that will be decided later this year.

Tuesday marked the first day of the filing period, which will continue through March 25.

Filing in Jefferson City were local lawmakers who represent the region in the General Assembly. The candidates, all Republican incumbents, had drawn no opposition in first-day filing.

They are Ron Richard, of Joplin, 32nd Senate District; Bill White, of Joplin, 161st House District; Charlie Davis, of Webb City, 162nd House District; Tom Flanigan, of Carthage, 163rd House District; Bill Reiboldt, of Neosho, 160th House District; Bill Lant, of Pineville, 159th House District; and Mike Kelley, of Lamar, 127th House District.

Also filing in Jefferson City were candidates for U.S. Congress, including Missouri’s 7th District. Incumbent Billy Long filed, along with challenger Marshall Works. Both men are from Springfield.


In Jasper County, a number of incumbent candidates are running unopposed, at least based on first-day filing. But it appears that the retirements of some incumbent officeholders will translate to races for posts to be vacated at the end of the year.

Marilyn Baugh and Scott Graham both filed for the county clerk’s office currently occupied by Bonnie Earl. Doris Tatum, Charlotte Feather Pickering and Ron Hill are candidates for the recorder of deeds post held by Donna Grove.

John Nicholas and Michael L. Roberts filed for associate circuit judge in Division 4, a post now held by Judge Joseph Schoeberl. Nate Dally and Joe Hensley both are candidates for the Division 5 associate judgeship now held by Judge Richard Copeland.

One incumbent candidate attracted opposition on the first day. Jim Lessy filed for presiding county commissioner, along with John Bartosh, who has held the post for the past two terms.

Filing for re-election, and thus far without opposition, were Dean Dankelson, prosecuting attorney; Melissa Holcomb, circuit clerk; Richard Webster, auditor; and Steve Holt, collector.


In Newton County, first-day filers were all incumbent Republican officeholders.

Filing were Gregory Stremel, Division 2 associate circuit judge; Kevin L. Selby, Division 3 associate circuit judge; Marilyn Ruestman, presiding county commissioner; Kay Baum, county clerk; Patty A. Krueger, circuit clerk; Lenora Hyder, recorder of deeds, Jacob R. Skouby, prosecuting attorney; Charlotte Walker Ward, auditor; and James W. Otey, collector.


All the candidates filing on the first day in Barton County were incumbent GOP officeholders.

They are Charles Curless, associate circuit judge; Mike Davis, presiding commissioner; Kathleen Dimond, recorder of deeds; Kristina Crockett, county clerk; and Janet Maupin, circuit clerk.


First-day filing produced one race in McDonald County. Bill Dobbs filed to challenge Jonathan Pierce for the office of prosecuting attorney.

Debbie Serr filed for county clerk, a post currently held by Barbara Williams, who is not running for re-election. Jennifer Weber filed for county collector, seeking to replace Brenda Gordon, who is not running for an additional term.

Incumbent candidates who filed to run for re-election were John LePage, associate circuit judge; Keith Lindquist, presiding commissioner; Jennifer Mikeska, circuit clerk; Kenny Underwood, recorder of deeds; and Joye Helm, treasurer.

Election calendar

OFFICIALS WHO TAKE OFFICE next January are officially elected in November. But in a region where candidates normally run as Republicans, most decisions are made in the primary election — among GOP candidates — in August.


Contribute to the Campaign

Please consider making a contribution today to support Billy’s quest to bring real conservative values to Washington.

Get Started »

Join Us

If you would like to access the members-only areas of the Billy Long for Congress web site or leave us information on how can volunteer, please take the time to share your details with us.

Join The Team! »

Stay Connected

Stay connected to the latest campaign updates and discussions by following Billy on his Facebook page or following Billy’s tweets on twitter.